Baileys Ice Cream – Without a Machine

With St. Patrick’s Day just around the corner I thought I should make something ‘Irish’ to celebrate. This recipe is made with Baileys Irish Cream liqueur. That counts, right?

I’ve always wanted to make my own ice cream. But, with storage space at a premium (this is Vancouver), I’ve never owned an ice cream machine.

Long ago I decided this was a good thing, at least in terms of keeping my waistline in check. But then I discovered this no-machine ice cream recipe and I just had to try it out.

To hell with my plan to lose those last few baby pounds by the summer.

The above link lists two awesome recipes for peanut butter and chocolate and cookies and cream ice cream, which I’ll have to try out someday soon. For St. Paddy’s Day I decided to make one of my favorite ice cream flavors: Baileys Irish Cream.

Baileys Irish Cream No Machine Ice Cream Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups whipping cream
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk (10 fl.oz / 300ml)
  • Baileys Irish Cream, 2 x 1.5 oz shots (85ml / 5 tbsp + 2tsp)

Using an electric mixer whip the whipping cream until stiff peaks form.

Fold in the sweetened condensed milk and the Baileys Irish Cream liqueur and thoroughly mix.

Pour into a freezer-friendly container and freeze for ten hours minimum.

Serve and enjoy!

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Freezing Time: 10+ Hours
Yield: 4 cups

20130312-120702.jpg

2 thoughts on “Baileys Ice Cream – Without a Machine

Leave a Reply

